Monkey Sock Swap THREE Questionnaire

Standard

 The basics:
Do you consider yourself a beginning sock knitter, an intermediate, or have you been doing this so long you could probably knit a pair in your sleep?

Intermediate. I’ve been knitting socks for about 2 years now and can handle most lace and cables. I prefer lace to cables but I think that’s just because I’ve yet to learn to cable without a cable needle

The measurements:
Shoe Size:   UK 5
Foot circumference:   9″ at the widest part
Foot length:  8.5″

Yarn Preferences:
What colors do you love?

Green and brown! I also like anything bright and variegated. Not fond of blacks or paler colour combos.

Do you prefer solids or variegated?

Depends on the pattern and yarn. I love the look of Monkey in variagated (eg. Not self striping /patterning) yarn but some patterns need a solid show off the stitch pattern.

Do you prefer wool, cotton or acrylic yarn?

Wool most definitely but NO mohair or angora.

What colors would you never wear?
Not keen on bright red solids but it is ok in variegated yarn, the same goes for white/cream: other than that anything goes.

What are your favorite brands of yarn?
Anything soft and made from wool. I’m really into Blue Faced Leicester at the moment. I don’t mind handwashing my socks either.

Are there any new brands you would like to try?
If I have a US pal I would love to try Louet gems as it is difficult to get in the UK.  I would love to try Fleece Artist Sea Wool, tofuties  but I love any sock yarn.

Cookie A. Patterns:
Which of her patterns have you already knit?
Only Monkey, and that was for a friends birthday present.

Which pattern(s) would you like to knit and don’t already own?

I love the Thelonious sock – just beautiful!

Other pertinent information:

Would you be willing to have an international Monkey Pal or do you prefer one in the US?

International pal please (i.e. US pal as I am in the UK)

Do you have any allergies? 

Fiberwise – mohair and angora
I am allergic to cats and dogs so would prefer a pal without, or one who has strike no cat/dog on the knitting rules

Will your knitting be exposed to smoke or animals?

We have hamsters and gerbils (in the lounge) but they stay in their cages and I tend to do most of my knitting in the bedroom anyway.

Are you on Ravelry yet?

If you don’t mind having new friends, what is your Ravelry name?
Bagpuss – come and friend me

Leave a Reply

