1hr and 31mins…

Standard

Clementine Shawlette, originally uploaded by lyndsey-jane.

…is how long it took me to kitchener the Clementine Shawlette halves together. I can be so precise, not because I timed myself (i may be a geek but i’m not that bad) but because I started kitchenering when Pirates of the Carribbean – Dead Man’s Chest began and I checked the timer on the DVD when I finished.

All I have to do now is block it. Great i thought I’ll soak it today, until I remembered I had lent my Eucalan to my mum and not got it back yet. In the UK Eucalan, along with other no-rinse woolwashes, are a rarity. I was searching the internet for a UK stockist of Eucalan, my present bottle was a gift, only to find this. I would be interested in hearing from any UK people who have used it. It looks similar to Eucualan but much cheaper (well, same price but bigger bottle) and as there is a Lakeland in Cambridge it is easily accessible. As I have a couple of weeks until the wedding for which the shawl is needed I will postpone blocking until I can get to the city and buy some.

I plan on having a dyeing day tomorrow, so expect a shop update soon. I need to get the woolwash to soak the dyed yarn in to, so the update won’t be until next week.

About Lyndsey-Jane

I love to knit, spin and crochet, usually accompanied by music, a good book or good TV. I have had ME/CFS for 6 years and have been recently diagnosed with a type of inflammatory arthritis.

5 responses »

  1. I’ve used the Lakeland lavender stuff. It’s nice, smells of lavender, obviously.
    You don’t necessarily need a detergent when blocking unless the thing you’re blocking is dirty. Just water will do if that’s all you’ve got.

  2. Cant wait to see the finished shall, as it looks lovely. Thanks for the tip on the wool wash as I need some myself. I like to rinse all my wools with a bit of detergent when blocking them, especially if they are for gifts.

  3. that’s so pretty! can I ask – how much yardage did the shawlette take? I have some handspun that’s below the called-for amount in the pattern – just wondering what your mileage was. I don’t really want to make it any shorter than the pattern calls for.

  4. Whew, that’s a lot of Kitchener…but smart thinking to do it with Johnny Depp for company! Can’t wait to see it blocked and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

