Winter Coffee Swap Questions

Standard

Coffee

What are your favorite kinds of coffee? (Brands, Roasts, anything at all you’d like to share!)

I like most coffee and one of my favourite is Millstone flavoured coffee which is only available in the US, so if my pal is from there so much the better. Other than that I don’t mind what coffee I receive. I like medium blend coffees the best, nothing too strong or too weak.

Do you prefer whole bean or ground coffee?

I don’t have facilities to grind my own beans so ground is best.

This time of year, there are often Holiday Blends available, and many flavored coffees – do you drink flavored coffee? Do you enjoy special blends?

I love flavoured coffees and love cinnamon and Christmas spices. The only thing seasonal I’m not keen on is peppermint.

How do you take your coffee? Cream and Sugar? Straight up? Decaf?

I can drink my coffee anyway, preferably I like lattes, with no sugar. I do like sweet(ish) coffee though so I often use syrups (my fave being vanilla, cinnamom or hazlenut) I prefer sugar-free syrups but can only buy those with sugar in, in the UK. I get sugar-free when I go to Starbucks. I should be drinking decaf. due to my high blood pressure but tend not to.

Do you prefer drinking from a nice thick mug, or a matched cup and saucer?

Definitely a mug, the bigger the better! I drink out of my portable mug alot (as I drink the most coffee when at Uni) but it is only a Starbuck’s tall size and I can’t seem to find a bigger one. The UK just doesn’t get the big coffee cup thing.

Winter and Holidays – PLEASE be descriptive! Your pal will need this information to be sure to put together a package you will enjoy!

What is your favorite part of Winter?

Getting to wear all my handknits! I also love snugglying up with a large cup of coffee (or hot chocolate),watching old movies and knitting. I love being able to wrap up warm.

Do you celebrate a holiday in December, and if so, which holiday?

I’m not religious but I do celebrate Christmas, although not in a big way. It is just too expensive these days.

If you celebrate Christmas, do you put up a tree?

We do put a tree, but only if we are going to be spending Christmas at our house. Last year we spent Christmas away at our parents so didn’t bother decorating the house. Not sure what we are doing this year yet, but hopefully we will put the tree up. We only have a small artificial tree, as our house is only small.

Would you enjoy items related to the holiday, or would you prefer a Winter themed package?

I think I would prefer a winter themed package, as it would be relevant for much longer.

Do you collect anything? Are there any holiday or winter-themed items (Snowmen, Angels, Snoflakes, Santas, etc) that you collect?

I don’t collect anything specfic to winter or christmas but I do have quite few scarfs, hats and wrist warmers/fingerless mittens that I have knitted that I enjoy wearing at this time of year.

Do you wear scarves? Mittens? Hats?

Oh yes! All the time. I don’t actual own a pair of proper mittens (haven’t got round to knitting any yet) but love my fingerless mittens (great for uni). I pretty much wear my scarves all winter (even if I take my coat in lectures I keep my scarf on)

What is your favorite holiday or winter treat?

I love christmas spices, and my favourite treats are these little chewy cinnamon spicy biscuits that are only available this time of year. Some are covered in chocolate and some in a thin icing I think they are german (or somewhere like that). We never have christmas cake or chrismas pudding as neither me or Karl like dried fruit. Instead I make a spicy cake from my Nigella Lawson book and a Yule Log.

Please share a favorite Winter or Holiday memory.

Probably when I was about 5 I had my best christmas. I remember wearing a pair of red velet peddle pushers witha matching waistcoat. I got lots of great presents and the one I remember most was a Major Minor ( a plastic thing in the shape of a soldier which had a keyboard that played notes – you got cards that allowed you follow the symbols on the keyboard to play nursery rhymes)

Yarn and Crafting

Do you Knit or Crochet? For how long?

I’ve been knitting for nearly two years now. I don’t crochet and haven’t really got the inclination learn at the moment. I have a drop spindle and have tried my hand at spinning and when I have time intend to practice some more.

Do you like wooden, metal, or plastic needles\hooks? Circular or straight?

I only use bamboo or wooden needles as I don’t like the feel of plastic and metal hurts my hand as it drains all the heat from them and effects my joints. I use circs for larger projects and dpns for socks.

What sort of projects do you enjoy making?

I like most types of projects, at the moment I working on two pairs of socks, a scarf and two sweaters. I would like to do more knitting with beads. At the moment I’m trying to get sweaters finished as it is getting colder. My fave has to be socks but over the summer I lost my sock mojo. I also like knitting lace. I’m a fan of felting projects as I find felting in UK washing machines a real hit and miss. We don’t have top-loaders so the machine has to do the complete cycle and it can cause deep creases in the fabric.

What are your favorite types of yarn to work with?

Anything soft! I love alpaca,merino and BFL. I don’t like working with acrylic or novelty yarns. I’m allergic to mohair and angora so can’t knit with anything that contains it however small the quantity.

Do you spin or dye?

I have a drop spindle and enjoy it, but I wouldn’t say I was a spinner. I would like to practice more. I find corriedale and bfl the easiest to spin with. I dye sock yarn and sell it on etsy and really enjoy it. I use acid dyes for it.

Do you do other crafts such as scrapbooking or needlepoint or anything else?

I am getting a sewing machine for my birthday (in fact its sitting in the front room all wrapped up waiting for 1st Nov). I hope to use this to make bags.

General

When is your birthday?

1st Novemeber

Do you have any children? (Furry kind count!)

no children, but 2 gerbils and 3 hamsters. Oh my boyfriend can be childlike quite a bit of the time. Right now he is playing with the gebils, trying to get my attention!

What are your favorite colors?

I like most colours, but my faves are browns and greens. I like deep browns and pale browns but not to keen on orangey browns. I like all greens but my fave is olive. I also like turquoise, purple and pink.

Do you have any allergies?

Lots but they are mainly of the furry kind – cats, dogs, rabbits. I am also allergic to dust and find that I have to keep my stash dust free or else I sneeze when knitting with it. I am also allergic to tomatos.

One response »

  1. I have a dust allergy, too. Doesn’t go well with my hatred of housework…. Caption competition over at my blog, if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

