New Year, New Skills

Standard

 

New Year, New Skills, originally uploaded by lyndsey-jane.

Firstly, quilting. I have wanted to start quilting just after I got my sewing machine. I have two books, (Quilting for Dummies and Homes & Gardens Complete Guide to Quilting) which have been an interesting read, a rotary cutter with cutting mat and rule and a little tinned quilt kit which has instructions and 32 piece charm pack. I’m hoping to have my first go at the weekend.

Secondly, embroidery. Sublime Stitching has some fantastic patterns and after reading the book I can recommend them to beginners. The instructions are in plain simple English and really are fool-proof. The book assumes you have no prior knowledge at all which is great when you don’t and still helpful if you do. The book also contains loads of pattern transfers at the back and has envelopes in the covers to store them after use (they can all be used up 9 times). The stitch-it kit, contains a small leaflet of instructions, a hoop, 2 tea towels, 7 skeins of thread (floss) and a needle, as well as more transfers patterns. These two purchased from amazon for under £20.

I am still awaiting an order of more patterns, textiles and bits from the Sublime Stitching website, these have been shipped from the US, so hopefully will be with me soon.

One final thing I love about the book – it has a transfer pattern which is a stitch lesson. I think this may be crafting for the evening.

I am feeling much better and will have some great FO’s to show soon. I just need to buy some buttons tomorrow.

About Lyndsey-Jane

I love to knit, spin and crochet, usually accompanied by music, a good book or good TV. I have had ME/CFS for 6 years and have been recently diagnosed with a type of inflammatory arthritis.

2 responses »

  1. Glad you are feeling good; I’ve got my eye on those stitching books – cos a girl always needs more hobbies! Is the hoop that comes with the kit a good quality?

Leave a comment