My first quilt top

Standard

My first quilt top, originally uploaded by lyndsey-jane.

I was convinced I had blogged about this, but i haven’t. I think I may uploaded the photos when our internet connection was playing up.
I cut and pieced this over the 2 weekends and really enjoyed it. It is a kit by Moda (Splish Splash) which I found at an online shop (can’t remember which one) for half price and thought it would be a good way to try my hand at quilting.
The kit contained a charm pack (5″x5″ squares) and full instructions. It is far from perfect and more like a crazy log cabin due to the numerous unstraight lines. However, for a first attempt I am pleased and Karl has already asked that be included in the hamper for his Brother’s baby (due in June). I just need to find the perfect material for binding and backing. I am thinking either a yellow or orange and these are pretty unisex.

I bought two appliqué/quilting kits which arrived yesterday. Both are by Rachels of Greenfield, the Cat Tails is hopefully going to be for part of my Mum’s birthday’s present (as long as I can get it done my the end of March) and Best Friends is either for me, or whoever I decide might like it. I have cut out all the pieces (cotton and woolfelt) for mum’s and pieced the cotton background together, I just need to take some of the felt into John Lewis to get some coordinating thread for the appliqué.

I also started a new bag today as the Carpet Bag (pics on flickr) is in time out after misbehaving whilst I was trying to sew the ribbon on. I have cut out all the pieces for the Amy Butler Drawstring bag (2nd pattern in the In Town Bags pattern). I have found a new love for this pattern now I realize it can be made with 5 (or more) fat quarter pack. I bought fat quater pack of pink, blue and purples (pink & purple are batik) from John Lewis for about £10 and probably have enough left to make another of these bags but with fabric in different order. The looks like it will perfect as small knitting project bag.

I’ll take photos of the sewing projects over the weekend, as well as blog about my Hot Cocoa Swap parcel.

p.s it looks we are going to get a new oven!!!

 

About Lyndsey-Jane

I love to knit, spin and crochet, usually accompanied by music, a good book or good TV. I have had ME/CFS for 6 years and have been recently diagnosed with a type of inflammatory arthritis.

Leave a Reply

